Philip Abrams Prize 2016 – Nominations Open

Nominations are now being sought for the BSA Philip Abrams Memorial (PAM) Prize 2016.

The PAM prize is awarded to the best first and sole-authored book within the discipline of Sociology published between 1st December 2014 and 30th November 2015. The winner of the PAM Prize is awarded a monetary prize of £1,000 plus one year’s free subscription to ‘The Sociological Review’ published by Wiley-Blackwell. The winner also receives an invitation to the BSA 2016 Annual Conference (to be held at Aston University, Birmingham in April), with free conference registration, accommodation and travel (within the UK).

Closing date for 2016 entries is Friday 4th December 2015. For more information on the nomination process, please visit or you can contact Margaret Luke by email or by phoning 0191 383 0839.

We look forward to receiving your nominations.

The general criteria for eligibility are as follows:

  • Nominated authors must be current, fully paid-up, members of the BSA
  • Nominated authors must be resident within the UK
  • Nominated authors should be within the first seven years (or full-time equivalent) since starting their first academic post within the discipline of sociology
  • The nominated book must be the author’s first monograph. If the author has previously co-authored a monograph, they are not eligible for the prize. If the author has previously edited or co-edited a book, they are still eligible.
  • The nominated book must be a sole-authored book
  • The nominated book should be concerned with the discipline of Sociology
  • There is an expectation that the author has observed the contents of the BSA’s Authorship Guidelines for Academic Papers (adopted April 2001)
  • Nominations should comprise the official nomination form (duly completed), a brief curriculum vitae of the author, and five copies of the nominated book

Categories: Conferences

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *